First Ride

FirstRide1000

First Ride ©2016 maggie capettini 5×7 oil on gessobord | Private collection

This painting was done at the special request of my daughter. She had her first riding lessons last summer and it was a joyful experience for her. Some time after, she took note of the horse paintings I had recently done (Interrupted Lunch and Night Shift), and she asked me if I would paint a horse painting for her. Of course!

She wanted me to paint Princess, a beautiful big horse from the riding lessons. I searched through my photos and found one that seemed a good candidate to be an interesting painting. I really liked the light expressed in the photo I chose, but I did take artistic license to edit out the very kind young woman who led the horse for my daughter.

www.maggiecapettini.com

6 thoughts on “First Ride

  1. Great job of capturing a wonderful story with paint. It has it all… mood… light and shadow… personality…
    and the horse reflects a gentle strength… while carefully carrying a little girl whose feet don’t come close to
    reaching the stirrups!

    Like

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

