Italian American

Italian American [plein air] ©2015 Maggie Capettini 8x10 oil on linen panel | Available

Italian American [plein air] ©2015 Maggie Capettini 8×10 oil on linen panel | Available

Last month, I had some time to myself. I spent it walking around the historic district of Naperville, seeking out subjects for architecture paintings. My plein air paintings to date are mostly landscapes, and I have wanted to try my hand at painting buildings for some time.

My first attempt was “okay” – not terrible but not great, and it will probably be repurposed for a future painting. On my second day out, I wandered around for quite a bit before I found this great Italianate style home on Brainard right next to North Central College’s campus. (This was good because I am still not very bold about setting up in the public way and painting – I found a little side-sidewalk to stake my claim upon for a couple of hours of painting).

Aside from the grand architecture, I was interested in painting the hydrangea – such beauty! – and part way through my work I was happy to spy just the edge of the American flag peeking around the pillar.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

