One Plus One Equals Four

One Plus One Equals Four ©2015 maggie capettini, 9x12 oil on panel | Private collection

One Plus One Equals Four ©2015 maggie capettini, 9×12 oil on panel | Private collection

This painting represents two people starting a life together and, over time, their family growing from two to four. I painted this in a friend’s back yard. How lucky are they to have this gorgeous view?! Wherever this family goes, they now have a reminder of the view and of the time they spent growing as a family in this house.

I didn’t get a final shot of the painting before it went to its new home – I made one tiny change, and that was to soften the edges within the limbs of one of the trees. I felt the sharps edges and triangle shape drew my eye to that spot and trapped me there. Once I softened the edges and added a bit of green, that area stood out less, giving greater flow to the composition.

2 thoughts on “One Plus One Equals Four

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

