Gracie – A Portrait of a Dog

Gracie, ©2015 Maggie Capettini 10x10 oil on linen panel | private collection

Gracie, ©2015 Maggie Capettini 10×10 oil on linen panel | private collection

For Gracie, I strayed away from my usual split-primary palette. Instead, I used Prussian blue, Burnt Umber, Terra Rosa, Naples yellow, and Titanium white. Working from a photograph, I did a drawing with thinned Burnt Umber. Then, I blocked in the darks and built up to lights. The eye was tricky to get for this painting: something has caught Gracie’s attention, and her head is turned just a bit away from us. Her eye is definitely there and visible, but there isn’t a lot of information. I had to zoom in on my reference photo to really see what was going on, value-wise, to be able to paint an eye that still showed soul.

See the step-by-step on my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/MaggieCapFineArt/posts/1110214365659168

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

