Summer Clouds Over LCO

Summer Clouds Over LCO ©2015 Maggie Capettini 6x6 oil on gessoboard

Summer Clouds Over LCO ©2015 Maggie Capettini 6×6 oil on gessobord

Leading up to my artist’s reception for the exhibit, I was feeling a little nervous about the painting demonstration I would be doing: I hadn’t painted in weeks! I had been so busy with the administrative and organizational aspect of the exhibit and its installation that I just didn’t have time to get out (or stay in) and paint. So, a couple of nights before the big day, I did this 6×6 study from a photograph. How nice that we have the digital technology to help assess and create good composition from our photographic references. I can easily crop, change my mind, and crop again by flipping back and forth between the original photo (revert! revert!) and different compositions created by cropping.

Artists: I’d be interested to hear how you use digital capabilities in your art-making process.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

