Spring Creek in Thaw

Spring Creek in Thaw ©2015 Maggie Capettini, 10x8 oil on panel | Available

Spring Creek in Thaw ©2015 Maggie Capettini, 10×8 oil on panel | Available

March 9 was a beautiful day – perfect for what I had in mind. I had hoped to do one more painting for my Hadley Valley exhibit, which opens April 1st. It was such a long, cold winter with little to speak of in terms of a break from the weather. I really wanted to capture the thaw and that feeling of relief: there may still be snow on the ground, but in the air you can feel the promise of spring. On this morning, the temps were in the mid 30s when I started. I skipped the snow pants this time and opted for layers instead. Good thing, too! By the time I finished, temps had risen to the mid 40s, but it really felt HOT! The sun was very warm, which made painting quite enjoyable.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

