Touch of Winter

Touch of Winter ©2014 Maggie Capettini, 9x12 oil on panel | SOLD

Touch of Winter ©2014 Maggie Capettini, 9×12 oil on panel | SOLD

This is the second studio painting I have done for my Hadley Valley series. The hay bales had been out for a while this fall, and I had been out to paint them several times. Just before Thanksgiving, we got a bit of snow. I wasn’t sure I would get the chance to set up and paint the snow-dusted bales before a) the snow melted or b) the last of the hay bales were taken away. So, I took some reference photos to use in the studio. As it happened, they came to take the hay bales away before I had the chance to paint them.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

