Ready to Paddle

Ready to Paddle, ©2014 Maggie Capettini 9x12 oil on panel | Collection the artist

Ready to Paddle, ©2014 Maggie Capettini 9×12 oil on panel | Collection the artist

I have been doing TONS of plein air painting lately – almost exclusively, in fact. I am really enjoying it. While I do still plan to go out during the cold season, I think I will also spend time working on studio paintings. I have been amassing source photos I’ve taken, so my “to-paint” pile is healthy.

This is the first studio painting I have done in a while. Another favorite painting subject – Lac Courte Oreilles in northern Wisconsin. I worked alla prima, finishing the painting in one session. This is actually from a picture my mom took – I was in the photo, hauling the canoe up onto the sand – but I exercised my artist’s license and didn’t include myself 🙂

I feel very close to all my LCO paintings, and so they all remain in my personal collection.

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

