Summer Winds at North Beach

Summer Winds at North Beach, ©2014 Maggie Capettini, 8x10 oil on gessoed hardboard

Summer Winds at North Beach, ©2014 Maggie Capettini, 8×10 oil on gessoed hardboard

My trip to Michigan this year was different than the last few. Summer wasn’t quite as hot as usual. We’ve been lucky with very beach-y weather the last few years. This year, the water surface temps the first few days were in the mid 50s. Brrr! That makes my skin hurt upon leaving the water (even though I only went in to my shins).

I had a hard time picking painting spots early in the week. I went out several times and wandered around, seeing some things that piqued my interest but nothing that captured me totally. I set up to paint a sunset one night and ended up wiping the board. I was kind of a mopey artist.

Then, on this day, the winds picked up and the waves were forecast to be 4 to 8 feet high. The kids went to play in the sand at North Beach, and I set up near the water’s edge to paint this one. I really wanted to set up on the waters edge at a picnic table, but it was already being lapped by the waves. I decided to play it safe (boring!) and stay a bit up from the water. By the time I finished this, though, the waves were licking my feet. This one was done entirely with knives….more on that in an upcoming post.

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

