Sunset on the Bluff [right]

Sunset on the Bluff [right], Maggie Capettini, 8x10 oil on gessoed hardboard ©2014 [studio] | available

Sunset on the Bluff [right], Maggie Capettini, 8×10 oil on gessoed hardboard ©2014 [studio] | available

This is my first studio painting in a while. Feeling the reverberations of energy from my last two knife paintings (done en plein air), I had a go at a photograph I’ve been holding on to since our trip to Michigan last summer. My husband and I walked down to the beach for sunset, and the light playing through the forest on the bluff facing the lake was just beautiful. Something like that is so hard to capture with a camera. The experience is so much more dimensional than what the camera can translate, even for the most experienced photographers.

I tried to keep the painting dynamic, using the painting knife to block in trees, leaves, light, and shadow, without getting too tight or concerned with realistic representation. I like this one so much, I plan to do a sister painting for it from another photo I found yesterday: the other side of the bluff.

3 thoughts on “Sunset on the Bluff [right]

  1. Pingback: Sunset on the Bluff [left] | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

