Gusts in the Valley

 

Gusts in the Valley, 9x12 oil on cotton archival panel ©Maggie Capettini

Gusts in the Valley, 9×12 oil on cotton archival panel ©Maggie Capettini

Here is the latest in my Hadley Valley series.

Painting on the ground

Painting on the ground

I headed over to paint despite cold, directly west wind gusts ranging between 20-40 miles per hour. I had the time and the sun had reappeared around 1:00, just in time for my painting session. I wasn’t sure I would actually be able to paint. As I walked the trail toward the creek, I felt sure there was no way I could set up my easel and keep it upright for long. But the creek and grasses were so beautiful…I decided I would sit trailside to paint. I had to prop my EasYl Light up with my knees while I painted, so…

I now have a new pair of painting jeans.

The wind was relentless, and, though the temps were in the 40s, the wind chill was mid-thirties. I always feel so intensely invigorated when painting in high winds…its like the wind sets the pace. Another painting I remember feeling similar in the creation process is Racing Waves.

Toward the end of the session, when I was working on the finer detail work of the barn and trees, the wind was blowing so strongly that I couldn’t steady my arm to paint them well, so I finished it up in the hatch of my car.

 

See more in the series:

Warm December, 12x9 oil on cotton canvas ©Maggie Capettini

Warm December, 12×9 oil on cotton canvas ©Maggie Capettini

Moonset, 5x7 oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini 2014

Moonset, 5×7 oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini 2014

New Year's Day, Hadley Valley, 5x7 oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

New Year’s Day, Hadley Valley, 5×7 oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

Hadley Valley, September Morning, 9x12, oil on cotton stretched canvas ©Maggie Capettini

Hadley Valley, September Morning, 9×12, oil on cotton stretched canvas ©Maggie Capettini

Late Summer Bales, 9x12, oil on canvas ©Maggie Capettini

Late Summer Bales, 9×12, oil on canvas ©Maggie Capettini

Three Hay Bales, 12x16, oil on oil primed linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

Three Hay Bales, 12×16, oil on oil primed linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

 

One thought on “Gusts in the Valley

  1. Pingback: The Gateway | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

