July Sundown

July Sundown, 5x7 oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini 2013

July Sundown, 5×7 oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini 2013

Ahhh…what a welcome sight compared to what I see out my window. Today: rain, sloppy melting snow, grey skies. Feels good to gaze upon a warm sunset and gently lapping water.

This painting was done from a photograph – one of many photographs I have of sunset upon Lac Courte Oreilles in the Hayward Lakes region of Wisconsin. The photos are so numbered because of the beauty and variation among the sunsets. And, of course, because I have been there every year of my life except one.

This painting belongs to the Lac Courte Oreilles: Couderay Sunsets series. Also in the series: Last Light, Solstice Evening I, Solstice Evening II, and Warm Sunset at Couderay.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

