Three Sisters

Three Sisters, 8x8, oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini 2013

Three Sisters, 8×8, oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini 2013

At a friend’s suggestion, I am exploring a series of Amaryllis paintings. This is the second in the series: Three Sisters. The first painting, Mother’s Amaryllis, brings back memories for me. Likewise, the three flowers in this painting called to mind my two sisters and me. Each her independent self, with shared roots and growth.

This is the first painting I’ve used any kind of medium in process for over a year, maybe two. Up until this point, I have been just using pure paint in varying thicknesses on the canvas. It was a strange feeling to go back to using Liquin in my paint application – the feeling of slickness when applying paint, rather than drag, took a bit of getting used to. I like the finished look, and using medium allowed for a more subtle blending of color and value.

One thought on “Three Sisters

  1. Pingback: White Christmas | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

