Mother’s Amaryllis

Mother's Amaryllis, 7x5, oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

Mother’s Amaryllis, 7×5, oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

Talking with other artists gives me a charge. What makes an artist good is passion. A true artist naturally wants to share that passion with others. Last week, I had the good fortune to hear John Walker speak about his art-making process and to watch him begin a painting demonstration. Do take the time to visit John’s web site; he is a very talented artist.

John’s visit to the Lemont Artists’ Guild meeting had me itching to start another painting – immediately! When I got home at 9:00 at night, I began this petit painting, painted from a photograph I’ve been stowing away for some 15 years or so.

Its funny, with photo references…sometimes, its as though the moment is right – it is that photo’s time. That’s how it was with this painting. I saw it, and I knew. I knew. This is the one to paint, right now, at this moment.

My mom nurtures houseplants year round, but in winter, there were always amaryllis blooming. Red. White. Striped. So pretty and refreshing in the Chicago cold. I’ve sketched and photographed their forms many times, but this is the first time I’ve painted them. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Mother’s Amaryllis

  1. Pingback: Three Sisters | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

  2. Pingback: White Christmas | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

