September Plein Air

Plein air painting fall 2013...check out my snazzy backpack - clearance at Target. It came with an integrated lunch box that is perfect for storing paints and other small items!

Plein air painting fall 2013…check out my snazzy backpack – clearance at Target. It came with an integrated lunch box that is perfect for storing paints and other small items!

Hi, all! Fall is here. The autumnal equinox is Sunday. There air here in the Chicago area is finally feeling refreshingly crisp. I am looking forward to the beginning of a plein air painting journey through the changing seasons! With two kids in school at the same time for 2 hrs a week, twice weekly, I am planning to get out and PAINT! I have already done two plein air painting sessions this month, but haven’t gotten around to photographing my paintings to share.

Plein air painting fall 2013

Plein air painting fall 2013

Here are some photos of one of my plein air setups – just at the edge of my neighborhood, overlooking Hadley Valley Preserve. I have admired the changing seasons in this landscape for years…it will be very exciting to get to paint them finally! I found a nice little spot and plan to “paint the view” in deep fall and winter as well.

Plein air painting fall 2013

Plein air painting fall 2013

My other plein air session was in a forest on an overcast day, and its amazing how dark it can be! I had my point-n-shoot, and all the photos came out jiggly, so I don’t have any evidence of that setup. Next time, perhaps.

4 thoughts on “September Plein Air

  1. Pingback: Hadley Valley, September Morning | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

  2. I’m curious about why you use such a curved ‘horizon’, meaning the edges of the field and the tree tops. It gives the image a bit of a cartoonish look…which perhaps you intend? Just a thought.

    Like

    • Hi Bruce, thanks for looking. No, I certainly didn’t intend for it to look cartoonish. The tree line runs along the top of the hill and then comes down into the valley, giving it a curved path as it come down the hill.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Hadley Valley, September Morning – And a Reflection on Criticism | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

