Late Summer Bales

Late Summer Bales, 9x12, oil on canvas ©Maggie Capettini

Late Summer Bales, 9×12, oil on canvas ©Maggie Capettini

I was fortunate to have a couple hours to myself the other week – I packed up my painting equipment and headed over to the savannah across from my neighborhood where hundreds of hay bales had been sitting for weeks. Just this week, they started loading the bales up and hauling them away…so I’m glad I got the chance to paint them en plein air!

The savannah has a crushed limestone path that winds through it, so there were quite a few folks out exercising that stopped to see what I was up to. One guy even took pictures and a video! I guess people don’t see painters out there too often! 🙂

Here’s my view….

IMG_4080

 

 

 

…and here is a picture of my setup. It was a HOT sunny day, very bright, and I was set up just off the path with no shade in sight.IMG_4081

 

One thought on “Late Summer Bales

  1. Pingback: Warm December | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

