Three Hay Bales

Three Hay Bales, 12x16, oil on oil primed linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

Three Hay Bales, 12×16, oil on oil primed linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

I live in a neighborhood across from a Forest Preserve. But, it is not really a forest. The Forest Preserve District of Will County manages the land. This particular piece of land is part savannah, part prairie, and part wetlands. Its just beautiful. Every season, I itch to go and paint what I see. This year, with the kids both in school (four hours a week to myself! yipee!), I am hoping to be able to do some plein air painting and scratch that itch.

Three Hay Bales is the title of the painting, but in reality, there are hundreds at the preserve. When you approach the preserve, which is acres and acres of land, you get a sweeping view …the road is much higher than the preserve, and so you can see the preserve’s vast expanse, encompassing grasses, flowers, some trees, and a winding creek. The land slopes down from the road and then back up again, and the sun sets behind it. Ahhh. Such a lovely sight.

I have not had the time to go paint the hay bales en plein air. I’m not sure how long they will be hanging around…they have been there several weeks already. I ran over one evening and took some reference photographs, from which I created the composition for my painting Three Hay Bales. I’m posting one of my photos, but even this does not capture the impressiveness of the view in person.

Photograph ©Maggie Capettini

Photograph ©Maggie Capettini

2 thoughts on “Three Hay Bales

  1. Pingback: Late Summer Bales | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

  2. Pingback: Warm December | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

