South Haven Light in July

South Haven Light in July, 8x8, oil on linen panel, ©Maggie Capettini

South Haven Light in July, 8×8, oil on linen panel, ©Maggie Capettini

My last day painting at the beach was again on North Beach in South Haven (read about day 1 and day 2). This time, I left out the sand completely and focused on the water. After I got back home, I took out the painting of South Haven Light that I painted in August 2012 on North Beach and compared it to this plein air painting I did on the beach this year from nearly the same location. I think that these two paintings are the best representation of my growth as an artist over the last year. Although the older version was painted with knives and the more recent one done with brushes, the difference in my handling of color is something I like to see. Pretty cool.

Here is a side-by-side of South Haven Light (2012) and South Haven Light in July (2013).

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

