Path to the Beach

Path to the Beach, 8x10, oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

Path to the Beach, 8×10, oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

My second day of plein air painting was at a private beach in South Haven north of town. I enjoyed painting on this beach because there were trees and other foliage all very close to the water, so I could mix it up a bit with subject matter. I did two sessions of painting, about one hour each.

I originally was not able to catch the full effect of the sunlit leaves at the top of the trees, as I did not bring any cadmium yellows with. Strange, not sure what I was thinking, considering I used both of them in my greens color chart. Here is the original painting, before leaf touch-ups:

 Path to the Beach, 8x10, oil on linen panel, ©Maggie Capettini

(Unfinished) Path to the Beach, 8×10, oil on linen panel, ©Maggie Capettini

The version at the top of the post is the final version. When I got home, I mixed up a small amount of color to pull the focal trees forward and to express sunlight dappling the tops.

3 thoughts on “Path to the Beach

  1. Pingback: Breezy Shore | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

  2. Pingback: South Haven Light in July | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

  3. Pingback: An “Almost” Prize | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

