Solstice Evening I + II

Solstice Evening I, 8x10, oil on linen panel, ©Maggie Capettini

Solstice Evening I, 8×10, oil on linen panel, ©Maggie Capettini

Wow! I can’t believe its been over one month since I’ve last posted. I have been busy painting, despite my lapse in sharing.

In June, I visited one of my favorite places: Lac Courte Oreilles in northern Wisconsin. Last year, I did some very chilly plein air painting in October. This year, in June, it was hot (but not too hot) and very mosquito-y. I spent my days enjoying the weather, doing our “usual favorites,” and working around the cabin. After the kids went to bed in the evening, I set up on the screen porch (not braving the bugs this year!) and painted these two paintings.

Done on the summer solstice – the light lingered until nearly 10 pm. These are alla prima, and faux plein air (what I call painting nature from an interior location!). Artist’s quality oils on linen panels.

Solstice Evening II, 8x8, oil on linen panel, ©Maggie Capettini

Solstice Evening II, 8×8, oil on linen panel, ©Maggie Capettini

2 thoughts on “Solstice Evening I + II

  1. Pingback: Faux Plein Air on the Porch | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

  2. Pingback: July Sundown | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

