Ocotillo Sunset

Growing up, one of my favorite books was Miss Rumphius by Barbara Cooney. I loved her illustrations, and I would often imagine myself in the scenes presented throughout the book. Now, my own children love Miss Rumphius, too. They also love another book illustrated by Ms. Cooney – Roxaboxen, a story by Alice McLerran.

In Roxaboxen, there are several mentions of Ocotillo…so every time I think of this painting, I think of the magical world of Roxaboxen and of my kids talking about the “thorny ocotillo”.

Ocotillo Sunset, oil on linen panel, 5x7, ©Maggie Capettini

Ocotillo Sunset, oil on linen panel, 5×7, ©Maggie Capettini

This small all prima painting (5×7!) is painted from a photo my mom took on one of her many trips to the southwest. I myself have only been one time and only to Arizona, but someday I hope to travel throughout the southwest and – of course – paint along the way!

 

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

