Little Toadstool

Here is a small, 6×4 inch painting I did last night when I had a bit of painting time. This is a Fly Agaric mushroom, and apparently not one for snacking on in the wild.

For this painting, I used a limited color palette of Ultramarine Blue Deep, Transparent Red Medium, Sap Green, Yellow Ochre, and Titanium White. A nice, forest-y palette.

Fly Agaric, 6x4, oil on canvas board ©Maggie Capettini

Fly Agaric, 6×4, oil on canvas board ©Maggie Capettini

This is another painting where, halfway through, I thought it was terrible. A couple of times, I was close to wiping it all down and saving the canvas for another day. But, I remembered painting Waimea Canyon Mist and how, though I felt frustrated much of the time, I stuck through it and was pleased with the results. Even better – learning and growing as an artist.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

