Two more figure studies

I really enjoyed the workshop I took at Palette & Chisel with Clayton Beck. I definitely recommend taking a class with Clayton. He is an excellent teacher. He gives you lots of general concepts, lots of tips, and has sayings that are very much like mantras, which I expect to hear in my head during future painting sessions in my studio – which is the point. In addition to that, you get mini art history lessons! He’s very entertaining and a good speaker. And – of course – an excellent painter. I was just amazed at his ability to render figures and faces – not to mention the fact that he can do it with 15 or so people watching and while giving discourse on technique, etc, the whole time.

Jess, 16"x12", oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

Jess, 16″x12″, oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

The second day of the workshop was kind of a bust for me as far as having something tangible to show for it. (Read about day 1 here.) We had a handsome young man named Aron for our head studies – very textural red hair, very chiseled features – but I just didn’t have successful paintings at the end of the day. (In one he looked like a cranky lunch lady!) So, I wiped them off to use the panels for a future painting. But – the experience was valuable, as was my experience of rebounding on Sunday.

I did learn a valuable lesson from my painting session on Saturday… Both Friday and Sunday, I painted on a bench – while Saturday I worked at an easel. I learned that at an easel I can stick my nose right in my painting, and that works against me. At the bench, I am forced to stay about arm’s length away for most of the painting session – something I will try to force myself to do in the future while painting at the easel.

Red Lounge, 12"x16", oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

Red Lounge, 12″x16″, oil on linen panel ©Maggie Capettini

Sunday’s paintings, pictured here, were much more successful than Saturday’s paintings. I did a little more experimentation with mixing colors. The palette I used for this workshop consists of colors I am not familiar working with, and so it was very challenging to create colors to use. Making small piles of various color combinations helped a lot.

4 thoughts on “Two more figure studies

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

