Road to Point Reyes

As I mentioned in a previous post, I have been soliciting photographs from my family as a way to practice my painting and to have a variety of subjects to paint. My mom gave me a bunch to choose from, and I narrowed it down to two. She picked the winner – a photograph she had taken while driving to Point Reyes National Seashore near San Francisco. She was headed to Point Reyes Lighthouse, which has an interesting history detailed here. The lens of the light is notable because it is a “first order” Fresnel light, which is the largest of this type of light – weighing in at 6,000 pounds!

Just before Christmas, I had a few hours of time in my studio. I took the time to paint this painting, “Road to Point Reyes.” It was a fun alla prima painting. More architecture! It was much easier this time than in the past, though it still requires me to slow down, carefully observe, and make adjustments as I go along. The hills, grasses and flowers came out in a more quick, flowing manner.

Road to Point Reyes, 11"x14", oil on canvas ©Maggie Capettini

Road to Point Reyes, 11″x14″, oil on canvas ©Maggie Capettini

7 thoughts on “Road to Point Reyes

  1. Pingback: Creative Women Artists | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

