October Maples

Well, October was quite a while ago, and I did some posting about my en plein air painting experiences in northern Wisconsin (here and here), but I never got around to photographing this painting. At this stage, I consider it more as a sketch. The day I did this is was a chilly and windy 30 to 40 degrees and we had some flurries. It was hurried, spontaneous, and very instinctual – so it is more abstract that most of my paintings. The logs are very cylindrical, not very log-like, which bothers me, but I do really like the color and vibrancy.

October Maples, 14" x 11", oil on birch panel ©Maggie Capettini

October Maples, 14″ x 11″, oil on birch panel ©Maggie Capettini

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

