Salon du Thé

After a few busy weeks, I finally had the opportunity to work on my most recent painting again. It’s a subject I have been wanting to paint for a long time, and so far I am happy with how it is turning out. I really tried to find subtlety of color in the white wall behind the two little chairs, and I also tried to keep the bright, almost garish color of the chairs themselves, as that was what drew me to them in the first place. One challenge was the reflective tray being used as a table top – I think that part still needs more work. I also have noticed a few things that need a tweak, such as the yellow chair legs…so – this one will hit the easel again soon for finishing touches.

I had a difficult time photographing the painting to show both the subtlety of color changes in the very light wall and the very dark ground at the same time.

Salon du Thé, 16" x 16", oil ©Maggie Capettini

Salon du Thé, 16″ x 16″, oil ©Maggie Capettini

4 thoughts on “Salon du Thé

  1. Maggie, I think I stopped by this very place on the way to Pere Lachaise a few years back!!! I love it! Keep your fans posted. The colors and shadowing of the branches are really good Sent from my iPad

    Like

  2. Pingback: C’est fini! | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

