Seven Son

This was my first painting at my plein air painting workshop. We set up early in Adams Park in downtown Wheaton – a very lovely spot. There was a wedding party having their photos taken (and later we saw them at the church across the street), kids playing in the fountain, and many interested parties stopping by to see what we painters were up to.

I chose to paint the Seven Son growing in the garden – the trunks were striking, a beautiful color and form. You can read more about Seven Son on the Missouri Botanic Garden‘s web site. A pretty cool plant – thanks to my mom for identifying it for me! I would love to see its fall color, but we were a bit early for that.

This painting was done exclusively with painting knives – my first time using knives on board.

Seven Son, 11″x14″, oil on board, ©Maggie Capettini

2 thoughts on “Seven Son

  1. Pingback: Pink House at Danada | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

  2. Pingback: Danada House | Maggie Capettini Fine Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

