Close

My dad took a photo of a young couple feeding the pigeons, I never asked where he was at the time – I always assumed it was some piazza in Italy. I will have to find out more details! Anyway. I immediately presumed the two were boy and girl, young and in love. The more I worked on the painting and studied the figures, the more I was uncertain not only to their relationship, but also to whether it was a boy and a girl, or rather, two girls. At any rate, one thing is for certain, they are close and share an intimacy of some kind, and that is what drew me to paint them (and all those birds!).

Close, 18×24″, oil, ©Maggie Capettini

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

