Premier Plein Air

One style of painting that has intrigued me for some time, but which I have never tried, is that of plein air painting – that is, painting outdoors. I was blessed with beautiful weather, sleeping kids, and blooming iris one spring morning, and inspiration struck. I took my French box easel out in the backyard to the garden (thanks for the inspiration, Melissa!), and painted this iris.

First Iris, ©Maggie Capettini

The experience was absorbing, to say the least. I was way overdressed to be sitting in the sun for two hours, but I hardly noticed how sweaty I was until I was done! (Just what you were wondering about, right?!) The background needed more work (in the way of a different color, and I’m still not quite sure I like the one I picked), and I added the leaves by looking at the iris from inside the window the next (rainy) day.

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

