Local Arts Development

That’s been my mission this week! I haven’t been back to paintings since I created 1964, but I have been doing lots of art-related things. One thing I’ve been doing is teaching some art classes at Lemont Center for the Arts. I have been having so much fun working in a teaching capacity again…it had been three years since I left the public schools. I love to see my students “getting it”. The most rewarding class I teach is a two-hour portrait workshop. All my classes give me great satisfaction; however, this class is instant gratification: you can see within the two-hour period such a growth in skill, and, more importantly, self-confidence. Here is an example of a before and after portrait by one of my students (the 15+ class).

Portrait by A.R., January 2012

I'd love to hear your thoughts...please leave a comment. Thanks!

